SAILING: Prizes for sailing club's juniors

2:23pm Wednesday 5th March 2014

By Andrew Simpson

WINSFORD Flash Sailing Club’s members celebrated success on the water at their annual prize night.

Paul Lennie and Pam Gott were crowned the latest Champion of Champions, the most prestigious award, on an evening when promising talent was also recognised.

The Beginners’ Cup went home with Richard Shalders, while the Optimist Trophy for most consistent effort by a young sailor was presented to Sam Bennett.

A total of nine juniors received Royal Yachting Association commendations as a reward for progressing to the end of a course on dinghy sailing.

They were: Holly Brown, Zach Smith, Jessica Goodwin, Bethany Goodwin, Angus Paddison, Natalie Paddison, Jennie Edwards, Oliver Lewis and Daniel Goodwin.

Philip Smalley’s enthusiasm and willingness to participate around the club earned for him the Vale Royal Mayor’s Shield, a gong reserved for a young achiever.

Victors in the club’s respective championship categories picked up prizes too for winning in class.

Lennie and Gott were lauded in the Albacore division along with Henning and Judy Caesar, Nigel and Hazel Miller, Phil Smith and Fiona Niddrie.

For the Comets, awards went to Roy Symmers, Brian Herring, Ros Stephenson, David Harrison, Fiona Niddrie and Hazel Miller.

Bill Glover and Linda Shaw, Malcolm Friar, Daniel, Beth and Jessica Goodwin, plus Peter Gorst, won in the Enterprise category.

Among the GP14s, Phil Duggan and Anna McCrae, Mandy Mitchell and Jon Close, Tim and Megan Bird, Dave Burrows and Kate Billinge took home the prizes.

Laser awards were saved for Jonathan Latham, Rosemary Benson, Sam Clarke, Ian Clarke, Steve Whitby and Sandy Mill.

Steve and Jane Vandersteen, Craig and Amanda Hamilton and Keith Sowley and Vicky Weston were RS200 award winners.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Northwich Guardian: Site Logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory