CHESHIRE return to action in the British Senior County Championship on Sunday knowing they must beat Yorkshire to keep alive their hopes of finishing first in Section Three.

A defeat against Wales in their opener has left them playing catch-up.

Meadowbank, who opened a new pavilion at the start of the current campaign, will play host for the home leg in Winsford.

“It’s a big coup for us,” said committee member Tommy Ratcliffe.

“We’d love to see lots of people come down to support our local lads.”

Five members from neighbours Wharton Cons – Glynn Cookson, Simon Cookson, Daniel Nixon, Thomas Vickers and Shaun Yearsley – are set to feature.

Joe Illidge, a former regular at the Tin Mission now at Altrincham Boro, is among the reserves.

Captain Jason Cornes heads a six-strong Castle Private contingent completed by Steve Curbishley, Andy Hamman, Matt Hamman, Steve Morrey and Rob Winnington.

Matt Thurlwell (Comberbach) completes the line-up.

Dave O’Brien, also of Castle, is in the away side at Crosland Moor Manor.

The only change to a squad that lost last month is the return of Tommy Johnston (Houldsworth WMC) in place of Danny Baines.

Both matches start at 2pm.


British Senior County Championship

Section Three

Sunday, June 5

Cheshire v Yorkshire

At Meadowbank

Thomas Vickers (Wharton Cons) v Thomas Hanson (Pudsey)

Glynn Cookson (Wharton Cons) v Chris Mordue (Pudsey)

Andy Hamman (Castle Pvt) v James Hanson (Pudsey)

Steve Morrey (Queen’s Park) v Scott Fisher (Denby Grange)

Jason Cornes (Castle Pvt) v G I Wilson (Lower Hopton WMC)

Daniel Nixon (Wharton Cons) v Ian Booth (Lower Hopton WMC)

Matt Hamman (Castle Pvt) v Liam Griffin (Pudsey)

Robert Winnington (Castle Pvt) v Nicky White (Thongsbridge)

Matt Thurlwell (Comberbach) v Phil Dowgill (Clayton Victoria)

Simon Cookson (Wharton Cons) v Kevin Burns (Ossett Flying Horse)

Steve Curbishley (Castle Pvt) v Jack Dyson (Netherton Cons)

Shaun Yearsley (Wharton Cons) v James Davison (Thongsbridge)

At Crosland Moor Manor

Craig Newton (Lower Hopton WMC) v Carl Armitage (Houldsworth WMC)

Harry Seehra (Lower Hopton WMC) v Tommy Johnstone (Houldsworth WMC)

Wayne Moseley (Lockwood Cons) v Lee Fletcher (Lloyd Hotel)

Michael Martin (Canalside) v Dave O’Brien (Castle Pvt)

Dave Fox (Kirkheaton Cons) v Noel Burrows (Sale Excelsior)

Simon Walder (Lower Hopton WMC) v Jamie Bramley (Sale Excelsior)

John Spinks (Pudsey) v Neil Smith (Fallowfield)

Craig Gant (Netherton Cons) v Jimmy Harrison (St Oswald’s)

James Wilcox (Crossgates) v Paul Dooley (Poynton Sports)

Ashley Tattersley (Lower Hopton WMC) v Ryan Sandham (Poynton Sports)

Robert Hitchen (Lower Hopton WMC) v Michael McDonnell (Lloyd Hotel)

Ashley Daykin (Netherton Cons) v Lee Johnstone (Houldsworth WMC)