CHESHIRE begin a new campaign in the British Senior County Championship by meeting opponents they edged in last season’s semi-finals.

A success by 19 chalks against Wales clinched a date with Warwick & Worcester, although the holders proved too strong in a one-sided showpiece.

The 2016 edition starts next month.

Cheshire have chosen Knutsford Bowling Club, on Mereheath Lane, as the venue for their home leg.

They beat Derbyshire by 50 marks there last year.

Seven of this season’s selection were victors in that match.

Wharton Cons trio Glynn Cookson, Simon Cookson and Thomas Vickers are joined by Jason Cornes (Castle Private) in the line-up.

Poynton’s Paul Dooley, who plays for Castle in the Mid-Cheshire Bowling Association’s Premier Division, features too.

The away leg is scheduled for Colwyn Bay RBL.

Castle Private’s Rob Winnington is captain.

Clubmates Steve Curbishley, Andy Hamman, Dave O’Brien have also been picked, along with Wharton Cons pair Daniel Nixon and Shaun Yearsley.

Comberbach are represented by Phil Davies and Matt Thurlwell.

Steve Morrey, of Queen’s Park, is another who plays for Castle Private on Fridays.

The match, in Section Three, is scheduled for Sunday, May 1, from 2pm.

Yorkshire play Lancashire on the same day.


British Senior County Championship

Section Three

Sunday, May 1

At Knutsford Bowling Club

Glynn Cookson (Wharton Cons) v Paul Hallett (Esclusham)

Carl Armitage (Houldsworth WMC) v Leighton Roberts (Esclusham)

Lee Fletcher (Lloyd Hotel) v Adam Penlington (Broughton)

Tommy Johnstone (Houldsworth WMC) v Gerwyn Davies (Cunliffe)

Thomas Vickers (Wharton Cons) v Roger Morgan (Craig y Don)

Jason Cornes (Castle Private) v Keirion Roberts (Esclusham)

Ryan Sandham (Poynton) v Kevin Nicholas (Gresford Colliery)

Jimmy Harrison (St Oswalds) v Nick Jones (Cunliffe)

Simon Cookson (Wharton Cons) v Geraint Williams (Gresford Colliery)

Michael McDonnell (Lloyd Hotel) v Darren Lacey (Esclusham)

Lee Johnstone (Houldsworth WMC) v John Bonatti (Coed Talon)

Paul Dooley (Poynton) v Andrew Hughes (Gresford Colliery)

At Colwyn Bay RBL

Lewis Scott (St Asaph) v Steve Morrey (Queen’s Park)

Ivor Jones (Rhos Park) v Dave O’Brien (Castle Private)

Jason Jones (Abergele) v Daniel Nixon (Wharton Cons)

Trevor Heath (St Asaph) v Danny Baines (Sale Excelsior)

Keith Bailey (Beaumaris) v Jamie Bramley (Sale Excelsior)

Dave Jones (Esclusham) v Phil Davies (Comberbach)

John Short (Bangor) v Noel Burrows (Sale Excelsior)

Craig Richardson (Min y Don) v Andy Hamman (Castle Private)

Nick Hughes (Cunliffe) v Matt Thurlwell (Castle Private)

Craig Griffiths (Esclusham) v Robert Winnington (Castle Private)

Neale Charlton (Fron Park) v Steve Curbishley (Castle Private)

Mike Riley (Coed Talon) v Shaun Yearsley (Wharton Cons)