IT has been confirmed that 1874 Northwich will play in the Midland Football League next season.

Following their relegation from the Northern Premier League’s West Division, 1874 will now join neighbours Northwich Victoria in the MFL Premier Division after the FA confirmed the allocations for its National League System this afternoon.

Last year, Vics and Winsford United were moved laterally into the Midland League from the North West Counties League in a move that proved highly controversial, with both sides having appeals against the move rejected.

Winsford applied for voluntary demotion to Step Six in order to stay within the NWCFL, but Vics played on in the Midland League, finishing 13th.

Northwich Guardian:

None of our other teams within the National League System have moved, with Witton Albion now the region’s last remaining representative in the Northern Premier League.

They remain in the West Division, where Hednesford Town have been handed a reprieve to remain in the division despite finishing alongside 74 in the relegation zone.

Witton will be joined by the newly-promoted trio of Congleton Town, Wythenshawe and Wythenshawe Town, with Atherton Collieries and Stafford Rangers also entering the West Division following their relegation from the Premier Division.

Northwich Guardian:

Winsford and Barnton remain in the NWCFL First Division South, into which four clubs – Allscott Heath, Runcorn Town, Shawbury United and Wolverhampton Sporting Community – have been laterally moved.

Northwich Guardian: