A SIX-TRY home victory gave Winnington Park’s hopes of avoiding relegation a massive boost.

The maximum haul of five points was garnered from a 43-23 victory over Douglas IoM at Burrows Hill, meaning their fate is in their own hands going into the final game of the season.

They sit 10th in the Regional Two North West table and two points clear of Kirkby Lonsdale – the team currently in the final relegation spot who also managed to win on Saturday.

Park host eighth-placed Altrincham Kersal in their final game on April 6 while at the same time, Kirkby Lonsdale are at home to Crewe & Nantwich, who currently sit fourth.

A cagey start on Saturday saw Park and their Isle of Man-based visitors trade early penalties before a Benny Elliot try gave the hosts a lead they would never relinquish – he stepped inside to score and finish off a good move involving Cameron Flanagan, Joe Hickey and Jake Cornwell.

Douglas cut the gap with a penalty but came under more pressure from Park, who used a penalty advantage from a lineout to spin the ball out for Charlie Dexter to mark his debut with a try.

The hosts were now in control and were rewarded by Lewis Pickering’s try as he finished off some more excellent passing through the backs.

Douglas scored their first try just before the break, but Park took a 13-point lead into half time before going through the gears after the restart.

More pressure on the visitors’ line paid off when, after Shaun Underdown was stopped just short, the ball was recycled for Dan Williams to crash over and secure the bonus point.

Williams was then at the heart of the next try, catching a kick inside his own half and racing down the left before finding Charlie Hyde in support.

Elliot added his second try by intercepting a pass and running 80 metres to score and while Douglas finished strongly with two tries in the final 10 minutes, it was nowhere near enough to prevent a well-earned Park victory.

Winnington Park: Chris Twigg, Charlie Hyde, Cameron Flanagan, Lewis Pickering, Charlie Dexter, Benny Elliot, Jack Williams, Dan Williams, Matt Treacy, Gary Dykes, Joe Hickey, Ben Cann, Ross Morrin, Jake Cornwell, Bruce McGrogan, Frank Gibbons, Tom King, Shaun Underdown