WINNINGTON Park defeated Crewe and Nantwich 38-24 at Burrows Hill to reach the final of the Papa John Regional Two North Shield Final.

They progress to face Newbold on Avon in the decider at Darlington Mowden Park on Sunday.

Park made the most of some early possession when some quick hands from Benny Elliot put Charlie Hyde in for the first try, with Elliot adding the extras.

From the restart Park hunted their second try and succeeded when a lineout was won cleanly, the forwards set up a few drives and then the ball was passed out wide for Liam Geary to score in the corner with Elliot again converting.

C&N got some field position and scored a converted try from a scrum to open up their account.

Park were dominating possession and territory though and Chris Twigg was judged to be held up over the line.

Elliot kicked a penalty to extend the lead to 17-7 but C&N hit back a few minutes later with a second try from a scrum to close the gap.

A penalty for a high tackle allowed Elliot’s boot to make it 20-12 but C&N were taking their chances well and on 30 minutes scored an unconverted try to close the gap to three points.

However, Park got the last points of the first half after a lineout win led to the forwards creating a platform for the backs to send Jack Williams over for 25-17. After a cagey start to the second half and following a yellow card for C&N, a converted try by Dan Williams off the back of a rolling maul and Elliot’s conversion strengthened Park’s lead.

Elliot made C&N pay for more indiscipline with another penalty on 65 minutes, making it 35-17.

On 75 minutes C&N scored an easy try following a quick penalty for Park indiscipline but the hosts continued to work hard defensively and did not let C&N out of their half.

Elliot sealed the win with only five minutes to go with a classy drop goal from just inside the 40-metre line.

Park: Chris Twigg, Liam Geary, Charlie Hyde, James Johnson (Captain), Jack Williams, Benny Elliot, Cameron Flanagan, Dan Williams, Matt Treacy, Gary Dykes, Dave Cross, Ross Morrin, Shaun Underdown, Jake Cornwell, Tom King, Jack England, Gregor Purves, Kieran Taylor, Alex Burrage, James Wood, Cameron Herron, Dan Davenport.