A SINGLE goal scored just moments before the half time break ended 1874 Northwich’s interest in the Cheshire Senior Cup for another season, losing their quarter final tie at Warrington Town 1-0, writes Garry Clarke.

Tasting defeat for the first time since the first week of November, 1874 matched their higher ranked hosts throughout an entertaining game at Cantilever Park which saw both teams create numerous goal scoring opportunities.

There was little to choose between 1874 and their hosts who ply their trade two divisions higher in the Northern Premier League Premier Division.

The game's decisive moment arrived on the stroke of half time.

1874 failed to deal effectively with a corner, as the ball bounced around the six yard box Warrington’s first attempt at goal was blocked but Dave Raven followed up to smash the ball home from close range.

1874 had plenty of opportunities to score in the first half with Scott McGowan and Lee Knight both going close, while on another day Lee Jackson could have had a hat-trick by the break.

At the other end Josh Amiss was proving a handful for the Clarets rearguard going close with a couple of shots.

Whereas 1874 had shaded the first half Warrington edged the second half as the game started to open out and the home side could have added to their tally but were denied by Tony Aghayere who made two good saves to keep out shots from Dylan Vassallo and Bohan Dixon.

1874 had a golden opportunity to level the score at the start of the second half but Knight screwed his shot wide of the target from close range after a good run and cross from Mike Koral.

Warrington goalkeeper Marcus Burgess did well to keep out a McGowan effort midway through the second half, blocking his shot with his feet.

In the closing minutes of the game Callum Gardner curled a free kick agonisingly inches wide of the far post.

Warrington Town: Burgess, Carden, Warren, Duggan, Sephton, Raven, Harris (Kanu), Dixon, Amis (Sharp), Gray (Nelson), Vassallo. Unused subs: Jebrin.

1874 Northwich: Aghayere, Koral Tinning, Jackson, Jones, Parker, Hind (Gardner), M Woolley (Wellstead), McGowen, Weir (Hare), Knight. Unused subs: Russell, J Woolley.