THERE was an upset during both semi-finals on Sunday when Premier Division teams were eliminated.

Wharton Cons A, seeking to claim a title they won most recently in 2017, could not overturn a 53-chalks handicap deficit against second-tier side Rudheath B.

The Winsford outfit returned eight winning cards, but lost out by 19 on aggregate.

A heavy 21-7 defeat for John Hazeldine against Jack, his son, left the men from the Tin Mission with more to do.

They rallied to win the next seven blocks, but a gallant effort from their opponents saw them score precious chalks in each of them.

Tom Davies and Dan Caveney both made it to 20, while Andy Stelfox completed an afternoon to remember when he edged Simon Cookson (21-20).

They will face Comberbach C, from the third division, following their brilliant success against Frodsham Red Lion A.

The top-flight side had an even bigger mountain to climb at Winnington Park Recreation Club after giving away 74 chalks, although they remained on course after taking the first six blocks.

Phil Wingfield (21-9) and Len Stubbs (21-7) both won to single figures before Mark Chesworth surprised Dawn McDougall (21-15) to revive the underdogs’ hopes of progressing.

Alan Ryder made it to 17 against Jim Large before John Hubbard beat Phil Wainwright (21-16) to leave the Northwich side 13 ahead in the final reckoning.

The final is scheduled for Sunday, August 11.


Mid-Cheshire Bowling Association

Littler Cup

Sunday, June 30

Semi-finals (bowler handicap in brackets)

Frodsham Red Lion A (40) 239-252 Comberbach C (114)

Barry Ellams (3) 21-13 Adrian Robinson (10)

Sue Worrall (2) 21-13 Phil Stubbs (12)

Phil Wingfield (4) 21-9 Peter Jones (10)

Len Stubbs (3) 21-7 Eric Howman (14)

Matty Worden (3) 21-10 Stewart Yarwood (14)

Mike Butterley (7) 21-18 Norman Lovatt (9)

Dawn McDougall (4) 15-21 Mark Chesworth (11)

Fred Worrall (4) 21-9 Adele Maddison (10)

Jim Large (6) 21-17 Alan Ryder (12)

Phil Wainwright (4) 16-21 John Hubbard (12)

Rudheath B (84) 247-226 Wharton Cons A (31)

Tom Davies (10) 20-21 Daniel Nixon (3)

Jack Hazeldine (5) 21-7 John Hazeldine (5)

Charlie Linegar (8) 10-21 Glynn Cookson (2)

Pam Naughton (8) 17-21 Nicola Boulton (3)

Tom Lowe (7) 14-21 Tom Vickers (scr)

Alan Thompson (8) 16-21 Mark Winnington (3)

Susan Bellamy (11) 13-21 Martin Kettle (5)

Dan Caveney (9) 20-21 Pete Illidge (scr)

Andrew Edwards (10) 11-21 Owen Cookson (5)

Andy Stelfox (8) 21-20 Simon Cookson (5)