WEAVER Valley Cycling Club riders supplied evidence of growing strength in depth by claiming a team prize during the Janus Road Club 25-mile time trial.

Dave Walker, Sam Taylor and Andy Milligan were the fastest combination, stopping the clock in 2:52.50, to complete a course at Goostrey.

In challenging conditions, with driving rain and high winds, Walker was the quickest of Weaver Valley’s contingent when he ranked third in the men’s event in 55:09.

Darren Maironis (Transiation RT) was the pick of the field with 54:43.

Emily Martin was the third female, timing 1:06.29, behind Monica Drew (Storey Racing) and Naomi Wright (Manchester Tri Club).

Meanwhile second spot for the Weaver Valley member in the women’s category during the latest Darley Moor Circuit Race secured for her the points she needed to move up a category.

She was overtaken by Claire Whitworth (Team JRC) in a sprint to the line.

Martin continued a rich vein of form last weekend when she produced a personal-best performance during the Kent Valley Road Club 10-mile time trial.

She clocked 23:29, but lost precious seconds after missing a finishing ramp and having to double back.

Sam Taylor ranked 16th overall in 20:54, while Douglas Watson (GTR Return to Life) was the victor in 18:47.

Eleanor Underhill celebrated a maiden success in 2019 at the weekend after she took the women’s prize at the Wee Howff Dash, a mountain bike race on a seven-mile course around the Whitegate Way.

Husband Kevan was first overall, while fellow Weaver Valley members Paul Harding and Matthew Hornby were third and fifth respectively.

The event is promoted by Sandiway Ales at Blakemere Craft Centre.

On the tarmac Kevan Underhill has won the past two rounds of the Oulton Park Race Series in the men’s over 60s category – both times after a sprint finish.

Sam Taylor classified fourth and second in the senior category.

Northwich professional Matt Nowell, riding in Saint Piran’s colours, was the fastest solo entrant in Weaver Valley’s most recent 10-mile time trial.

He clocked 20:53, finishing almost 90 seconds ahead of Dave Walker.

A popular 2-up category saw a mixed team of Emily Martin and Sam Taylor register a rapid 22:47 to beat Paul Longley and Dave Jones (23:20).

Weaver Valley’s Andy Milligan and John O’Mara classified third in 23:41.