WITTON Albion’s rivals for next season in the Northern Premier League’s top-flight have been confirmed.

Among them are familiar foes dropping down from the level above, while two of the three promoted sides are new destinations for the Northwich club.

The Football Association’s Leagues Committee confirmed a provisional line-up, from step one through to six, of the National League System in an announcement on Sunday.

Carl Macauley’s men, who have finished inside the top 10 in each of the past two years after they were promoted in 2017, will play 42 matches.

Two teams have been promoted from the West Division; champions Atherton Collieries, who Albion eliminated from the FA Cup in 2016, and Radcliffe.

Morpeth Town, the East Division table-toppers, join them after successive promotions.

The Railwaymen, along with Colls, will provide the opposition for Witton in a league fixture for the first time.

Meanwhile two clubs, Ashton United and FC United of Manchester, drop down from National League North.

Farsley Celtic, of course, have filled one of those vacancies after claiming the title.

However Warrington Town, beaten in a ‘Super’ promotion play-off final by King’s Lynn Town after extra-time earlier this month, will again be Albion’s shortest away journey.

Hednesford Town have once more been moved sideways, to the Southern League’s Premier Central.

Members have to approve the proposed constitution during the league’s annual meeting in Blackpool next month.

An opening round of matches is scheduled for Saturday, August 17, kick-off 3pm.

Northern Premier League 

Premier Division 

Provisional line-up for 2019-2020 season* 

Ashton United (relegated from National League North

Atherton Collieries (promoted from Northern Premier League West Division

Bamber Bridge  

Basford United  


FC United of Manchester (relegated from National League North

Gainsborough Trinity  

Grantham Town 

Hyde United  

Lancaster City  

Matlock Town 

Mickleover Sports 

Morpeth Town (promoted from Northern Premier League East Division

Nantwich Town 

Radcliffe (promoted from Northern Premier League West Division

Scarborough Athletic  

South Shields  

Stafford Rangers 

Stalybridge Celtic  

Warrington Town 

Witton Albion  

Whitby Town 

*To be ratified by members during Northern Premier League’s annual meeting in June