THREE former champions remain in the running to win the Rudheath Spring Open when this season’s edition reaches a conclusion.

Darren Plenderleith, who lifted the trophy in 2017 before going on to win the British Senior Merit later the same summer, and Callum Wraight – the only man to win the competition twice – are part of a 16-man field for finals night on Saturday.

They are joined by Matty Gilmore, who claimed first prize three years ago.

There are plenty of men from the Mid-Cheshire Bowling Association motivated to prevent history repeating.

Two of them, Castle’s Jason Cornes and Tom Vickers from Wharton Cons, have been drawn to play each other.

Martin Kettle, another regular from the Tin Mission, blocks Plenderleith’s path to the last eight while clubmate Daniel Nixon takes on Dean Butler first up.

The 2019 prize pot is £3,240.

Eight qualifying rounds, the first of them in March, have provided a route to finals night for two bowlers every Saturday.

Plenderleith and Carl Fielding took the remaining places last weekend, the former after eliminating Phil Cookson (Wharton Cons) and Steve Curbishley (Castle).

Meanwhile Fielding ended the run of Owen Cookson, also of Wharton Cons, who was captain of Cheshire’s junior team for the away leg of their British Junior County Championship opener against Greater Manchester the following day.

Hot and cold refreshments will be available for spectators, and a bookmaker will be in attendance.

Play starts from 6pm at the Middlewich Road green.


Rudheath Spring Open

Saturday, May 18

Last 16: Sam Bailey v Glyn Storer; Jason Cornes v Tom Vickers; Carl Fielding v Tommy Johnstone; Matt Gilmore v Mark Sutton; Martin Kettle v Darren Plenderleith; Gordon McIntosh v Callum Wraight; Daniel Nixon v Dean Butler; Ben Phillips v Daniel Petcher