DAVE Hamlett, captain at Wharton Cons, is confident his side will rise to the occasion this afternoon when they attempt to win the Brunner Cup.

The Winsford side is chasing a fourth success in the Cheshire County Bowling Association’s most prestigious team knockout and take on Prenton-based Tixall – themselves two-time former champions – in the final.

“We’re underdogs, but we won’t be scared,” said Hamlett.

“There is plenty of know-how in our team, and so I’m not worried about them being overawed by the occasion even if our opponents bring with them loud vocal support.

“We’re ready, and are feeling upbeat.”

Cons’ most recent success was in 2012, when they saw off King & Queen, and six of their line-up that afternoon will take to the green at Metro Sports and Social Club this weekend.

Daniel Nixon would have been a seventh, but he is unavailable and Nicola Boulton takes his place.

“That’s not a bad replacement is it?” smiled Hamlett, referring to the multiple British Ladies’ Senior Individual Merit winner.

“We’d have loved Danny to be there but he’s played his part in previous rounds.”

A victory against Houldsworth WMC in the last 16 by a single-chalk felt defining, and Wharton haven’t been run anywhere near as close in wins against Metro (217-199) and Crosstown (249-156) in the rounds since.

Tixall include Castle, last year’s winners, among their victims en route.

They also eliminated Lloyd Hotel in the last eight.

Hamlett said: “They’re a side full of county players, which is why everybody will make them favourites.

“But we fancy our chances.

“It would mean a great deal to us, as a traditional club side, to get our hands on the trophy again and we’ll do everything in our power to do exactly that.”

Play starts in Stretford at 2.30pm.


Cheshire County Bowling Association

Brunner Cup


Saturday, August 18

At Metro Sports and Social Club

Tixall v Wharton Cons

Phil Lee v Jimmy Harrop

Matt Gilmore v Glynn Cookson

Peter Jones v Tom Vickers

John Dalziel v Mark Winnington

Robbie Fitzpatrick v Dave Hamlett junior

Mike Havern v Nicola Boulton

James Fitzpatrick v Shaun Yearsley

Dave McDermott v Graham Donnelly

Josh Bunting v Pete Illidge

Ian Hazlehurst v Dave Morrey

Mick Andrews v Dave Hamlett senior

Anthony Thompson v Simon Cookson