WITTON Albion’s rivals for next season in the Northern Premier League’s top-flight have been revealed.

The Football Association’s Leagues Committee confirmed a provisional line-up for the first four levels of the National League System in an announcement on Thursday.

Its members met 48 hours earlier.

Carl Macauley’s men, who finished seventh on their return to the Premier Division after being promoted via the play-offs last year, will play fewer matches.

That’s because the pyramid has been restructured, leaving them with 42 fixtures instead of 46.

Four teams have been promoted from Division One North; champions South Shields, Scarborough Athletic, Hyde United and Bamber Bridge – the latter after winning last weekend’s play-offs final against Prescot Cables.

Basford United, the Division One South winners, step up too.

Meanwhile two clubs, Gainsborough Trinity and North Ferriby United, drop down from National League North to fill vacancies left by Altrincham and Ashton United moving in the opposite direction.

A total of six sides – Barwell, Coalville Town, Halesowen Town, Hednesford Town, Rushall Olympic and Stourbridge – have moved sideways to a newly-created Southern League Central Division.

The furthest south Witton will travel from Northwich is to Stafford.

Members have to approve the proposed constitution during the league’s annual meeting in Blackpool next month.

An opening round of matches is scheduled for Saturday, August 18, kick-off 3pm.

Northern Premier League

Premier Division

Provisional line-up for 2018-2019 season*

Bamber Bridge (promoted from Northern Premier League Division One North through play-offs)

Basford United (promoted from Northern Premier League Division One South as champions)


Farsley Celtic

Gainsborough Trinity (relegated from National League North)

Grantham Town

Hyde United (promoted from Northern Premier League Division One North)

Lancaster City


Matlock Town

Mickleover Sports

Nantwich Town

North Ferriby United (relegated from National League North)

Scarborough Athletic (promoted from Northern Premier League Division One North)

Shaw Lane

South Shields (promoted from Northern Premier League Division One North as champions)

Stafford Rangers

Stalybridge Celtic

Warrington Town

Witton Albion

Whitby Town


*To be ratified by members during Northern Premier League’s annual meeting in June