WITH the general election now less than a month away, the list of candidates standing across Cheshire has been finalised.

Various towns and villages across the county will find themselves in new or different constituencies following a shake up of the election boundaries. 

Polling day takes place on Thursday, July 4, and voters must take photo ID to the polling station.

Here are the candidates standing in the election:

Mid Cheshire

Seven candidates will be battling it out in next month’s general election in a bid to become the first MP for the new Mid Cheshire constituency.

Andrew Cooper – Labour

Charles Fifield – Conservatives

Mark Green – Green Party

Emma Guy – Reform UK

Jack Price-Harbach – Liberal Democrats

Helen Clawson – Independent

Stella Mellor – Independent

Mid Cheshire is a new seat which has been formed following a redrawing of parliamentary election boundaries.

It includes Northwich, Winsford and Middlewich, Davenham, Greenbank, Hartford, Kingsmead, Moulton and Rudheath.

Mid Cheshire is taking in some areas which were under the former constituency of Weaver Vale which no longer exists.

Other ‘transfers’ from other constituencies include Middlewich from the Congleton constituency and Winsford from Eddisbury.

The electorate is given as 69,775 and wards in the Mid Cheshire seat are Davenham, Moulton and Kingsmead; Hartford and Greenbank; Northwich Leftwich; Northwich Winnington and Castle; Northwich Witton; Rudheath; Winsford Dene; Winsford Gravel; Winsford Over and Verdin; Winsford Swanlow; Winsford Wharton.


Five candidates will battle it out in the general election in a bid to become the next MP for Tatton.

Esther McVey – Conservatives

Ryan Jude – Labour

Jonathan Smith – Liberal Democrats

Nigel Hennerley – Green Party

Oliver Speakman – Reform UK

Tatton has always been considered a Conservative stronghold – although it did vote for an Independent MP in 1997.

The constituency includes the towns and villages of Knutsford, Wilmslow and Alderley Edge.

Lymm also now comes under Tatton, having been ‘transferred’ across from Warrington South following the shake-up of the electoral boundaries.

A small area of Marbury, which was formerly part of the Weaver Vale constituency which no longer exists, is also now part of the Tatton constituency. Most of Marbury was already in Tatton even before the shake-up.

The Tatton electorate is given as 75,538 and wards in the constituency are: Alderley Edge, Chelford, Handforth, High Legh, Knutsford, Mobberley, Wilmslow Dean Row, Wilmslow East, Wilmslow Lacey Green, Wilmslow West & Chorley, Marbury, Shakerley, (part of) Lymm North & Thelwall; Lymm South.

Chester South & Eddisbury

Six candidates have thrown their hats into the ring in a bid to become MP for Chester South & Eddisbury.

Aphra Brandreth – Conservatives

Angeliki Stogia – Labour

Steve Davies – Green Party

Rob Herd – Liberal Democrats

Peter Langley – Reform UK

Gillian Edwards – Independent

Chester South & Eddisbury is a new parliamentary seat which has been created following a shake-up of the electoral boundaries.

It sees parts of the former City of Chester constituency, mostly south of the River Dee, merge with most of the former Eddisbury constituency.

The boundary changes also see this new seat take in Wybunbury, which was in the Crewe & Nantwich constituency, and the area of Weaver and Cuddington, which was formerly in Weaver Vale.

Winsford, which was in the Eddisbury constituency until the boundary shake-up, will now be a part of the new Mid Cheshire parliamentary seat.

Until the dissolution of parliament last month, the City of Chester seat was held by Labour while Eddisbury was held by the Conservatives.

The electorate is stated as 71,975 and the wards in the Chester South and Eddisbury seat are Audlem; Bunbury;  Christleton and Huntington; Farndon; Handbridge Park; Lache; Malpas; Tarporley; Tarvin and Kelsall; Tattenhall; Weaver and Cuddington, Wrenbury and Wybunbury.


Seven candidates will be battling it out in a bid to become the next MP for Congleton.

Fiona Bruce – Conservatives

Sarah Russell – Labour

Paul Duffy – Liberal Democrats

Richard McCarthy – Green Party

Rob Moreton – Independent

Kay Wesley – Women’s Equality Party

Martin York – Reform UK

Congleton has always been considered a Conservative stronghold.

The seat has not been as affected by the shake-up of electoral boundaries as some areas across the country, although it has lost the town of Middlewich which is now part of the new Mid Cheshire constituency.

The main towns and villages in the Congleton constituency are Alsager, Congleton, Sandbach and Holmes Chapel.

The electorate is stated as 69,836 and the wards in the Congleton constituency are: Alsager; Brereton Rural; Congleton East; Congleton West; Dane Valley; Odd Rode; Sandbach Elworth; Sandbach Ettiley Heath and Wheelock; Sandbach Heath and East; Sandbach Town.