THE final of the Wharton Cons Open takes place on Sunday with two previous winners Jason Cornes and Dave McDermott looking to get their hands on the trophy for the second time and collect the £700 winners’ cheque, writes David O’Brien.

With the action starting at 4pm, Cornes faces his Castle Sports teammate Ian Howell in his last-16 tie while McDermott faces Chris Charlton.

Neal Ocego, Red Lion, has a tough assignment in his first game of the evening when he takes on Dan Petcher from Derby.

Gareth Coates could start as the favourite with the bookies for the title and plays Cedric Bancroft in the last 16.

Leighton Roberts, Wrexham, will also be heavily fancied and comes up against a fellow Welsh player, Paul Roberts, in the last 16.

Draw: Anthony Walker v Kyle Chapman, Gareth Coates v Cedric Bancroft, Kris Fearnley v Stuart Goodwin, Paul Roberts v Leighton Roberts, Jason Cornes v Ian Howell, Neal Ocego v Dan Petcher, Craig Podmore v Ben Stapleton, Dave McDermott v Chris Charlton.

On Saturday, the second running of the George Astbury Trophy takes place at Castle Sports starting at 10am with 64 players competing for the £450 first prize.

Last year’s winner Darren Plenderleith heads the field alongside the Castle Sports Open winner from this year, Ben Harris.

Sue Worrall of Wharton Ladies and Red Lion reached the milestone of 100 appearances for the Mid Cheshire women’s county team on Sunday and celebrated it with a 21-13 win at Rudheath Sports in their match versus Burton & District.

The Mid Cheshire Federation team missed out on promotion from Division Three on Sunday as East Lancs got the required result over Ormskirk to push them down into third place.

As the team had no game this month they held the first Mid Cheshire Federation knockout. Kevin Duncalf, Castle Sports, took the title defeating James Gurney 21-20 in the final in the competition played at Middlewich RBL.

The Mid Cheshire League’s Pogson Pairs winners on Saturday were the Comberbach pairing of Colin Peters and Craig Bournoneaux who beat Owen Cookson and Jack Bushell in the final at Barnton CC.