The BBC will launch twelve new HD channels in October including one for the North West.

It means regional evening news programme North West Tonight will be shown in HD for the first time.

The new channels will be broadcast subscription-free from October 21 2021, following plans to reconnect with their audience outside of London. 

BBC One Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland already have regional HD streaming, but in England there is only one HD feed of BBC One which pauses when regional programming is broadcast.

It comes after BBC Director-general announced their 'BBC Across the UK' plan, which runs from next year to 2027 with the aim to "move the creative and journalistic centre of the BBC away from London to a much more distributed model that moves not just people, but power and decision-making to the UK’s nations and regions."

The new HD channels will be available for the following regions:

  1. Cambridgeshire
  2. Channel Islands
  3. East
  4. East Midlands
  5. London
  6. North East and Cumbria
  7. North West
  8. Oxfordshire
  9. South
  10. South East
  11. South West
  12. West Midlands
  13. Yorks and Links
  14. Yorkshire