EDDISBURY'S MP has had the whip removed by the Conservative Party after voting against the Government on Tuesday night.

Antoinette Sandbach is set to sit as an independent member of parliament unless the Conservative Party decides to restore the whip.

It follows last night's vote to allow a debate in the House of Commons today, September 4, which could see a bill passed to prevent a 'no deal' Brexit on October 31.

Ms Sandbach was one of 21 Conservative rebels to vote against the Government, including former chancellor Philip Hammond and Sir Nicholas Soames, the grandson of Sir Winston Churchill.

Following the vote, a Downing Street spokesman said: “The Chief Whip is speaking with those Tory MPs who did not vote with the Government this evening. They will have the whip removed.”

Prime Minister Boris Johnson confirmed he would look to trigger a snap election today as a result of last night's vote.

Esther McVey, Conservative MP for Tatton, voted in line with the Government, which lost the vote by 328 to 301.

Mike Amesbury, Labour MP for Weaver Vale, voted against the Government.