BOWLERS from Spinner & Bergamot made history at the weekend when they won the Littler Cup for the first time.

After knocking out Mid-Cheshire Bowling Association Premier League teams Wharton Cons B and Castle Private A in previous rounds, they completed a hat-trick of surprise successes against neighbours Comberbach A.

The margin of victory on Sunday at Owley Wood, where the underdogs started with a 71-chalk handicap advantage, was 15 points.

“We’re all on a big high still,” said Spinner captain Tamsin Birkett on Monday.

“Most of our players hadn’t taken part in a final before, which makes our triumph that little bit more memorable.

“The trophy will take pride of place now back at the pub, so hopefully lots of people will notice and ask why it’s there.”

Comberbach, hoping for a third final win since the turn of the century, returned 10 winners in windy conditions at the Weaverham venue.

However victories for Dave Gallimore, against last year’s Guardian Cup winner Matt Thurlwell, and Lisa Kerford tipped the aggregate score Spinner’s way.

Peter Thorp made it to 20, while Keith Birkett and Nigel Cwiklinksi both lost to 19.

Tamsin said: “It was a real team effort, just as it had been to get through to the final in the first place.

“We thought we stood a chance, but of course you can never be too confident against an opponent from the top division.

“We were aware all the way through what we had to do, and it was a relief to make it to the finish line.

“It’s an important moment for the pub, particularly [landlords] Rob and Anita [Southerton] who have been big supporters of bowls.

“They’ve paid to improve the facilities, including lights around the green, so this is a way of saying thanks to them.”

Spinner will turn their attention now to Monday’s Whitby Cup quarter finals, when they face Comberbach B, also at Owley Wood.

They currently occupy second place in Section Two, though Wharton Cons C are close behind in a race to join season-long pacesetters Alsager Institute in Section One next season.


Mid-Cheshire Bowling Association

Littler Cup final

Spinner & Bergamot A (85) 264 Comberbach A (14) 249 (Spinner bowlers first)

Dave Gallimore 21 Matt Thurlwell 15

Mark Tomlinson 14 John Gurney 21

Peter Thorp 20 Colin Peters 21

Graham Pickering 11 Craig Bourbonneux 21

Ken Hamblett 17 James Gurney 21

Craig Wheeler 8 Dave Jones 21

Graham Hodson 16 Stuart Kellett 21

Tamsin Birkett 5 John Rutter 21

Hazel Williams 8 Dave Thurlwell 21

Keith Birkett 19 Rob Cawood 21

Lisa Kerford 21 Jon Gurney 10

Nigel Cwiklinksi 19 Dan Moores 21